Norfolk Symphony Orchestra

Saturday 19th May 2018
7.30pm


Norfolk Symphony Orchestra - A Heroic Golden Age. A vast and heroic concert to stir the soul. Franz Schubert Symphony No.5 Richard Strauss Ein Heldenleben

Norfolk Symphony Orchestra , St Nicholas Chapel, King's Lynn | Norfolk Symphony Orchestra - A Heroic Golden Age. A vast and heroic concert to stir the soul.  Franz Schubert Symphony No.5  Richard Strauss Ein Heldenleben | concert, orchestra, music,

As a man and as a musician, Schubert personifies many of the main characteristics of 19th century Romantisicism. The world is a bad place and getting worse, nothing can be done....we must all just sit together and wait for the end. Art, therefore, is an escape from this awfulness. The Fifth Symphony is, perhaps, his lightest and most charmingly cheerful work. He expresses his love for Mozart and yearns for what he sees as the "lighter, better life" when he was still alive. The massive and monumental work, Ein Heldenleben, (A Hero's Life), is clearly based on the life of Richard Strauss himself, although he was slow to admit this. The orchestra is vast. The Hero, played by eight horns faces his enemies, the critics who he felt were unfair in his early career. His beloved wife, the singer, Pauline de Ahna takes cnetre stage, represented by beautiful and extremely virtuosic violin solos. With her by his side he faces his foes and, after a great battle, vanquishes them, retiring afterwards into tranquility and fulfilment.

Price: £16 £8 (100 free tickets for young concert-goers. Ask for details when booking)

Location: St Nicholas Chapel, King's Lynn

More information

concert, orchestra, music,

Why not stay at Deepdale Camping & Rooms for 'Norfolk Symphony Orchestra '

Other Dates For Your Diary

 
Time Horizon - Antony Gormley
Sun 21 Apr to Thu 31 Oct
 
Feast in the Park at Holkham
Sat 13 Jul to Thu 29 Aug
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 18 to Tue 23 Jul
 
Full Moon Rituals
Sun 21 Jul
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 25 to Tue 30 Jul
 
Heacham Beach Clean
Sat 27 Jul
 
Sacred Sunday
Sun 28 Jul
 
Sandringham Flower Show
Wed 31 Jul
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 1 to Tue 6 Aug
 
Wells Carnival 2024
Fri 2 to Sun 11 Aug
 
Willow Weaving Workshop - Family Workshop
Sat 3 Aug
 
Willow Weaving Workshop - Flower
Sat 3 Aug
 
Sacred Sunday
Sun 4 Aug
 
Sheringham Beach Clean
Sun 4 Aug
 
The Jolly Charity Pub Quiz
Tue 6 Aug