Snail Racing Championships

Saturday 19th July 2014


Snail Racing Championships - An event that is timed to the last milisecond!

Snail Racing Championships, The Cricket Field, Lynn Road, Congham, Norfolk | Snail Racing Championships - An event that is timed to the last milisecond! | Special, Children, Competition
Snail Racing Championships, The Cricket Field, Lynn Road, Congham, Norfolk | Snail Racing Championships - An event that is timed to the last milisecond! | Special, Children, Competition
Snail Racing Championships, The Cricket Field, Lynn Road, Congham, Norfolk | Snail Racing Championships - An event that is timed to the last milisecond! | Special, Children, Competition
Snail Racing Championships, The Cricket Field, Lynn Road, Congham, Norfolk | Snail Racing Championships - An event that is timed to the last milisecond! | Special, Children, Competition

Ready! Steady! Slow! And with that, more than 300 snails dash off, slugging it out in the most important event in the snail racing calendar.

"Congham is to snail racing what Newmarket is to horse racing", claims Hilary Scase, event organiser.

The racetrack, a circle of 13in radius, is kept at optimum dampness by the trainer, and competitors with names such as Speedy or Schumacher, are cheered on by the excitable crowd.

To enter, just bring a streamlined snail or borrow one from the snail trainer on site.

The championships are part of Congham Fete, which raises money for the 13th-century St Andrews Church.

Price: Proceeds to charity

Location: The Cricket Field, Lynn Road, Congham, Norfolk

More information

Special, Children, Competition

Why not stay at Deepdale Camping & Rooms for 'Snail Racing Championships'

Other Dates For Your Diary

 
Time Horizon - Antony Gormley
Sun 21 Apr to Thu 31 Oct
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 23 to Tue 28 May
 
North Norfolk Open Studios 2024
Sat 25 May to Sun 2 Jun
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 30 May to Tue 4 Jun
 
Brancaster Beach Clean
Sat 1 Jun
 
Holkham Beach Clean
Sat 1 Jun
 
30 Days Wild
Sat 1 to Sun 30 Jun
 
Open Farm Sunday
Sun 2 Jun
 
The Jolly Charity Pub Quiz
Tue 4 Jun
 
Walking Women
Tue 4 Jun
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 6 to Tue 11 Jun
 
Sheringham Beach Clean
Sun 9 Jun
 
The Importance of Being Earnest - Open Air Theatre
Wed 12 Jun
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 13 to Tue 18 Jun
 
Jolly Sailors Ale & Music Festival 2024
Fri 14 to Sun 16 Jun