NSO Concert

Sunday 25th June 2017
15:30


Brief Encounters - The two mighty works in this programme are both referred to as “cinematic”, although in neither case was this intended by the composer

NSO Concert, King's Lynn Corn Exchange | Brief Encounters - The two mighty works in this programme are both referred to as “cinematic”, although in neither case was this intended by the composer | Concert, classical

Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No. 2 - soloist: Viv McLean
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 11

Rachmaninov's gorgeous Piano Concerto No.2 is, for many people, always associated with the soundtrack of the film Brief Encounter. Shostakovich's titanic 11th Symphony, on the other hand was written as a response to the massacre of protestors by the Russian Imperial Guard, which led to the 1905 Revolution. This has been described as “a film score without a film” as it depicts the events of the day in one huge sweep of narrative sound.

Price: £16 for adults, £8 for children, first 100 under 18s go free max. 3 per adult

Location: King's Lynn Corn Exchange

More information

Concert, classical

Why not stay at Deepdale Camping & Rooms for 'NSO Concert'

Other Dates For Your Diary

 
Time Horizon - Antony Gormley
Sun 21 Apr to Thu 31 Oct
 
30 Days Wild
Sat 1 to Sun 30 Jun
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 13 to Tue 18 Jun
 
Jolly Sailors Ale & Music Festival 2024
Fri 14 to Sun 16 Jun
 
Heacham Beach Clean
Sat 15 Jun
 
Holkham Summer Garden and Outdoor Living Fair
Sat 15 Jun
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 20 to Tue 25 Jun
 
Hunstanton Beach Clean
Sat 22 Jun
 
West Runton Beach Clean
Sun 23 Jun
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 27 Jun to Tue 2 Jul
 
The Jolly Charity Pub Quiz
Tue 2 Jul
 
Walking Women
Tue 2 Jul
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 4 to Tue 9 Jul
 
Introduction to Green Woodworking Course
Sat 6 Jul
 
World Snail Racing Championships
Sat 6 Jul