Behind the Scenes Tour

Wednesday 25th April 2018
11am-12.30pm


Hidden Passages and Servants' Stairs - Behind the Scenes Tours of Holkham Hall

Behind the Scenes Tour, Holkham Hall, Wells next the Sea, Norfolk, North Norfolk | Hidden Passages and Servants' Stairs - Behind the Scenes Tours of Holkham Hall | behind the scenes, tour, guided tour

Behind the grand state rooms that the public normally see, hidden from view, lie a labyrinth of corridors and stairways. Servants could come and go throughout the hall without being seen or heard. They would appear in the state rooms as if by magic!

These guided tours take you behind the scenes to explore some of these never-before-seen passages and stairs. But, be aware, you will need stamina and good shoes as there are 70 winding stairs to climb up and 70 more to climb down. The tour starts at the porter's door in the servants' wing. After a brief insight into how space in the hall was divided between the senior servants, we will climb the back stairs to the corridor which serviced the state, or royal, bedchambers.

We will climb further to the bedrooms in which the royal entourage were housed, now known as Nelson Wing today and peep into some of the bedrooms, which are still in use for visitors.

We then climb even further to explore the attics and tower rooms of Holkham Hall. Here we will see the hall's rooftops from the windows and the courtyards far below, the newly repaired bell-tower and the attic libraries. We will see the fabric room with its many chairs waiting their turn to be restored, as well as much more which is now in storage.

The attics offer glimpses of fabulous views over the park. We shall hear the story of Lady Mary Coke, daughter-in-law of Thomas Coke, who locked herself away in one of the tower rooms and hear the tall tales of strange goings-on within the book shelves.

Finally, we shall descend via a spiral staircase which comes out by the main bank of servants' bells near the butler's pantry, before returning to the porter's door.

Price: £25 adult, £12.50 child (recommended age 10+).

Location: Holkham Hall, Wells next the Sea, Norfolk, North Norfolk

More information

behind the scenes, tour, guided tour

Why not stay at Deepdale Camping & Rooms for 'Behind the Scenes Tour'

Other Dates For Your Diary

 
Time Horizon - Antony Gormley
Sun 21 Apr to Thu 31 Oct
 
30 Days Wild
Sat 1 to Sun 30 Jun
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 13 to Tue 18 Jun
 
Jolly Sailors Ale & Music Festival 2024
Fri 14 to Sun 16 Jun
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 20 to Tue 25 Jun
 
Hunstanton Beach Clean
Sat 22 Jun
 
West Runton Beach Clean
Sun 23 Jun
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 27 Jun to Tue 2 Jul
 
The Jolly Charity Pub Quiz
Tue 2 Jul
 
Walking Women
Tue 2 Jul
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 4 to Tue 9 Jul
 
Introduction to Green Woodworking Course
Sat 6 Jul
 
World Snail Racing Championships
Sat 6 Jul
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 11 to Tue 16 Jul
 
Brancaster Beach Clean
Sat 13 Jul