Treasured Manuscripts

Friday 7th September 2018
11am-1.30pm


Explore the depth of Thomas Coke's interest in the classics and ancient history, particularly his passion for Greek and Roman antiquity.

Treasured Manuscripts, Holkham Hall, Wells next the Sea, Norfolk, North Norfolk | Explore the depth of Thomas Coke's interest in the classics and ancient history, particularly his passion for Greek and Roman antiquity. | historical

Meet the curators and discover more about the ‘Treasures and Trophies' exhibition with this special two-part event in Holkham Hall including a rare opportunity to see, first-hand, a selection of important examples from Holkham's incredible collection of manuscripts. The exhibition curator, and Holkham archivist, Lucy Purvis will take you on a guided tour of the exhibition and reveal insights into the ideas that Thomas Coke explored on his Grand Tour and how they have shaped Holkham. Delve into our unparalleled manuscript and early book collection with our manuscript curator, Dr Laura Nuvoloni. In these specially-devised illustrated talks, Laura will be focusing on the medieval and early modern collections in the Holkham library. Inspiration from the Classical World Explore the depth of Thomas Coke's interest in the classics and ancient history, particularly his passion for Greek and Roman antiquity. You will hear how Coke gave financial support for the publication of the Etruria Regali, a major seventeenth century work on the history of the Etruscan civilization.

Price: Adult £25, Child (ages 10 years and over) £12.50. Tickets include car parking and coffee and biscuits.

Location: Holkham Hall, Wells next the Sea, Norfolk, North Norfolk

More information

historical

Why not stay at Deepdale Camping & Rooms for 'Treasured Manuscripts'

Other Dates For Your Diary

 
Time Horizon - Antony Gormley
Sun 21 Apr to Thu 31 Oct
 
30 Days Wild
Sat 1 to Sun 30 Jun
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 20 to Tue 25 Jun
 
Hunstanton Beach Clean
Sat 22 Jun
 
West Runton Beach Clean
Sun 23 Jun
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 27 Jun to Tue 2 Jul
 
The Jolly Charity Pub Quiz
Tue 2 Jul
 
Walking Women
Tue 2 Jul
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 4 to Tue 9 Jul
 
Introduction to Green Woodworking Course
Sat 6 Jul
 
World Snail Racing Championships
Sat 6 Jul
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 11 to Tue 16 Jul
 
Brancaster Beach Clean
Sat 13 Jul
 
Sheringham Beach Clean
Sun 14 Jul
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 18 to Tue 23 Jul