Norfolk Libraries Week

Monday 8th to Saturday 13th October 2018
See website and invidual libraries for details


Celebrating the nation's much-loved libraries. This year, with a focus on wellbeing, libraries across the country will showcase how they bring communities together, combat loneliness, provide a space for reading and creativity and support people.

Norfolk Libraries Week, Libraries throughout Norfolk, England | Celebrating the nation's much-loved libraries.  This year, with a focus on wellbeing, libraries across the country will showcase how they bring communities together, combat loneliness, provide a space for reading and creativity and support people. | norfolk, libraries, week, reading, books
Norfolk Libraries Week, Libraries throughout Norfolk, England | Celebrating the nation's much-loved libraries.  This year, with a focus on wellbeing, libraries across the country will showcase how they bring communities together, combat loneliness, provide a space for reading and creativity and support people. | norfolk, libraries, week, reading, books

To mark Libraries Week, most of Norfolk's libraries will host a Free Just a Cuppa Coffee morning – there will be tea, coffee and the chance to chat and socialise.

There will also be a virtual Just a Cuppa and book chat taking place via the Norfolk Borrower's Facebook group on Monday 8 October,  Tuesday 9 October and Wednesday 10 October, 7–8pm.  If you want to take part you just need to be a member of the group, be on Facebook from 7pm and join in!  There'll also be book give-aways each day.  The group provides a place for people to share what they're reading with others.

We're celebrating the wellbeing benefits that reading provides.  Research shows that reading for pleasure has been linked to a reduction in stress, the symptoms of depression and the risk of developing dementia in later life.  Why not pop in to a library and borrow a book during libraries week?  Or download an eBook, eAudio book or eMagazine

Reading Well

Reading Well Mood-boosting books is a national promotion of uplifting titles.  Norfolk Libraries have put together a collection of our mood-boosting books available from their libraries to help you get started.

The second strand to Reading Well is Reading Well Books on Prescription. Reading Well Books on Prescription helps you to understand and manage your health and wellbeing using self-help reading. There are booklists on four topics -mental health, long term conditions, mental health for young people and dementia, the books are free to reserve from any Norfolk library.  For more information visit our health and wellbeing page.

Price: See website for details

Location: Libraries throughout Norfolk, England

More information

norfolk, libraries, week, reading, books

Why not stay at Deepdale Camping & Rooms for 'Norfolk Libraries Week'

Other Dates For Your Diary

 
Time Horizon - Antony Gormley
Sun 21 Apr to Thu 31 Oct
 
30 Days Wild
Sat 1 to Sun 30 Jun
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 20 to Tue 25 Jun
 
Hunstanton Beach Clean
Sat 22 Jun
 
West Runton Beach Clean
Sun 23 Jun
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 27 Jun to Tue 2 Jul
 
The Jolly Charity Pub Quiz
Tue 2 Jul
 
Walking Women
Tue 2 Jul
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 4 to Tue 9 Jul
 
Introduction to Green Woodworking Course
Sat 6 Jul
 
World Snail Racing Championships
Sat 6 Jul
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 11 to Tue 16 Jul
 
Brancaster Beach Clean
Sat 13 Jul
 
Sheringham Beach Clean
Sun 14 Jul
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 18 to Tue 23 Jul