Syderstone Village Cinema

Saturday 4th June 2016
Start at 7.30pm


Sunset Song (15). The saga of a Scottish farming family before the outbreak of World War I.

Syderstone Village Cinema, Amy Robsart Hall, Syderstone, Norfolk, PE31 8SD | Sunset Song (15). The saga of a Scottish farming family before the outbreak of World War I. | cinema ices raffle

A film adaptation by renowned UK director Terence Davies of the 1932 Scottish classic by Lewis Grassic Gibbon. It stars newcomer Agyness Deyn as Chris Guthrie, a young woman growing up in a farming family in North East Scotland, who has dreams of becoming a teacher. Her father (Peter Mullan) is a domestic tyrant who bullies his wife and beats his son. After her mother's death, Chris' brother Will escapes to Canada but Chris stays on to look after her stroke-ridden father and manage the farm, which she eventually inherits. The film shows us her life through courtship, marriage and motherhood, until the world is turned upside down by the outbreak of war in 1914. Ravishing cinematography and meticulous period detail. Not to be missed!

Price: £3.50 advance booking (01485 578171) - £4 on the door

Location: Amy Robsart Hall, Syderstone, Norfolk, PE31 8SD

More information

cinema ices raffle

Why not stay at Deepdale Camping & Rooms for 'Syderstone Village Cinema'

Other Dates For Your Diary

 
Time Horizon - Antony Gormley
Sun 21 Apr to Thu 31 Oct
 
30 Days Wild
Sat 1 to Sun 30 Jun
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 20 to Tue 25 Jun
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 27 Jun to Tue 2 Jul
 
The Jolly Charity Pub Quiz
Tue 2 Jul
 
Walking Women
Tue 2 Jul
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 4 to Tue 9 Jul
 
Introduction to Green Woodworking Course
Sat 6 Jul
 
World Snail Racing Championships
Sat 6 Jul
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 11 to Tue 16 Jul
 
Brancaster Beach Clean
Sat 13 Jul
 
Sheringham Beach Clean
Sun 14 Jul
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 18 to Tue 23 Jul
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 25 to Tue 30 Jul
 
Pop Up Shops
Thu 1 to Tue 6 Aug